May 1152 A.D. Blackmore Priory, Essex, UK—Founded by Jordan de Samford & Augustinian Canons Regular; Dissolved 1525 for Cardinal Wolsey’s College at Oxford
May 1152 A.D. Blackmore Priory, Essex, UK—Founded by Jordan de Samford & Augustinian Canons Regular; Dissolved 1525 for Cardinal Wolsey’s College at Oxford; Granted to John Smith, 1540; Priory Church in Parochial Use as “Church of St. Laurence” Blackmore Priory From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia Blackmore Priory was a priory in Essex , England . It was established as an Augustinian Priory with a Prior and twelve Canons, who were not monks but ordained priests. They would be expected to work in the parish as well as lead a monastic life in the Priory. The buildings were begun in the second half of the 12th century. Some of the original architecture can still be seen in what is now the Parish Church, notably the door between the [later] bell tower and the nave, which was once the main entrance. The Priory’s heyday was around the end of the fourteenth century when a single roof was placed...