Sunday, April 24, 2016

Sharon Ruth Veitch: Graduate Recital, Eastern Carolina University School...

(Part 2) Organist: Sharon Ruth Veitch. Time: 5PM. Date: 24 April 2016. Place: St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Greenville, NC. This recital is presented in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the Certificate of Advanced Performance Studies (CAPS) from Eastern Carolina University School of Music.


Benedictus from Opus 59 ...
Max Reger (1873-1916)

Choral Prelude and Fugue on “O Traurigkeit, O Herzeleid Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Symphony V Charles-Marie Widor (1844-1937)

IV. Adagio
V. Toccata

Program notes

Benedictus from Opus 59, No. 9

Johanne Baptist Joseph Maximilian Reger (1873-1916), born in Brand Bavaria, settled in Munich as an organist, chamber pianist and accompanist. He became a professor of composition and eventually as a Hofkapellmeister at the court of Georg II. In 1916, he died of a heart attack at the age of 43.

In Opus 59, there are twelve pieces. It was composed and published in 1901 and is in the Romantic style. There are four pieces of the twelve that are inspired by the Catholic liturgy and often called his “organ mass” – Kyrie, Gloria, Benedictus and Te Deum. The Benedictus is the most popular. This piece begins slowly, steadily and thoughtfully with much chromaticism. The quietness is left for more vigorous and almost antagonistic unsettledness. When this piece comes to a conclusion, the beginning slow, steady and quiet thoughtfulness returns.

Choral Prelude and Fugue on “O Traurigkeit, O Herzeleid”

Johannes Brahms, (1833-1897), born in Hamburg, Germany, spent most of his professional life in Vienna. Austria. He is considered one of the greatest composers and considered one of the “Three B’s” – Bach, Beethoven and Brahms by the Hans von B├╝low, a nineteenth-century conductor.

In 1858, Brahms composed the Prelude, and in 1873, composed the Fugue of Choral Prelude and Fugue on “O Traurigkeit, O Herzeleid”. Both the Prelude and Fugue are in A minor. It was first performed in Vienna in 1882 and lasts about 7-8 minutes.

In the Prelude, each phrase of the chorale is heard in the highest and lowest voices in 4/4 meter. The accompaniment is in the middle of these voices in a 12/8 meter. In the Fugue, the theme is present in inversion in the first few notes yet is not easily heard.

You will find the words to this chorale in the 1982 blue hymnal of the Episcopal Church, #173. The chorale speaks of sorrow and weeping and you can almost feel the pain, sorrow and tears in this piece.

Symphony V, Adagio and Toccata

This work was composed Charles-Marie Widor in 1879. The final movement of Symphony V is known as “Widor’s Toccata” because it is his most famous piece. It is used as recessional music a wedding ceremonies such as Prince William, Duke of Cambridge and Catherine Middleton on 29 April 2011 at Westminster Abbey.

No comments:

Post a Comment