Tuesday, October 13, 2015

13 October 1873 A.D. (Rev. Prof.) Louis Berkhof was born. He died on May 18, 1957.

13 October 1873 A.D.  (Rev. Prof.) Louis Berkhof was born.  He died on May 18, 1957.
Berkhof, Louis.  Systematic Theology.  Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company, 1977. 
There is also free online pdf-version of Systematic Theology at: http://books.biblicaltraining.org/Systematic%20Theology%20by%20Louis%20Berkhof.pdf
First, we include a brief Wiki-bio.  Second, we call attention to a short bio: http://www.ccel.org/ccel/berkhof .  Third, there is an excellent summary by Banner of Truth’s Mr. (Rev.) Geoff Thomas at: http://www.banneroftruth.org/pages/articles/article_detail.php?1389 .  We did not reduplicate that but we do recommend the article.  Fourth, we have included an outline of Mr. Berkhof’s infamous Systematic Theology. (5) Before the Wiki-bio, this observation:  Aren’t you glad for the Calvinists in Grand Rapids?  For Zondervan, Baker Academics, William B. Eerdmans, Kregel Publishing and more?
Personal life


Berkhof was born in 1873 in Emmen, Drenthe, in the Netherlands and moved with his family to Grand Rapids, Michigan, in 1882.
About the time he graduated from the seminary he married Reka Dijkhuis. They had four children before her death in 1928. He then married Dena Heyns-Joldersma who had two daughters.[1]

Education and career

In 1900, he graduated from Calvin Theological Seminary in Grand Rapids after which he was appointed pastor of the First Christian Reformed Church in Allendale Charter Township, Michigan. Two years later he attended Princeton Theological Seminary where he earned his B.D. in two years. He returned to Grand Rapids to pastor Oakdale Park Church.

In 1906, he joined the faculty of Calvin Theological Seminary and taught there for almost four decades. For the first 20 years he taught Biblical Studies until in 1926 he moved into the systematic theology department. He became president of the seminary in 1931 and continued in that office until he retired in 1944.[2]


Berkhof wrote twenty-two books during his career.[1]
His main works are his Systematic Theology (1932, revised 1938) which was supplemented with an Introductory Volume to Systematic Theology (1932, which is included in the 1996 Eerdmans’s edition of Systematic Theology) and a separate volume entitled History of Christian Doctrines (1937).
He wrote a more concise version of his Systematic Theology for high school and college students entitled Manual of Christian Doctrine, and later wrote the even more concise Summary of Christian Doctrine.
He also delivered Princeton Theological Seminary's Stone Lectures in 1951. These were published as The Kingdom of God.
In addition to this, he worked on many papers for the Christian Reformed Church as well as collections of sermons.[2]


Berkhof was not known for being original or speculative but for being very good at organizing and explaining basic theological ideas following in the tradition of John Calvin, Abraham Kuyper and Herman Bavinck.
Theologian Wayne Grudem has called Berkhof's Systematic Theology "a great treasure-house of information and analysis... probably the most useful one-volume systematic theology available from any theological perspective."[3]
Berkhof's writings continue to serve as systematic presentations of Reformed theology. They are organized for use in seminaries and religious education as well as individual reference, though his systematics works are demanding reads.[4]


1.               ^ a b Berkhof, Louis
2.               ^ a b Louis Berkhof
3.               ^ Grudem, Systematic Theology, Zondervan, 1994, pg. 1225
External links

·                  Outline of Berkhof's Systematic Theology
·                  Calvin Theological Seminary's biography
·                  Free PDF of Berkhof's Systematic Theology
·                  42 links to diverse Berkhof's works

No comments:

Post a Comment